Retour des Îles

A wine aged for several months
at sea during an Atlantic crossing

Retour des Iles was born of the desire to recreate the sensations British wine merchants must have experienced in the Middle Ages when, seeking out the most exquisite delicacies, they sampled wines that had crossed the seas.

We select four barrels of wine on our estate, for which we have detected a special potential that awaits its perfection. The barrels are loaded into the hold of a brigantine sail boat, to cross the Atlantic solely under the force of the winds.

During this eight-month crossing, our wine is subjected to the swell of the sea, iodine and variations in air pressure and temperature. The wine thus develops unique aromas and flavours, lending it a new and incomparable dimension.

It has a dense dark garnet robe and powerful aromas of very ripe red berries. Its palate is remarkably well-balanced, round and full-bodied, long and fleshy. It offers up an intense expression of fruit accompanied by supple and airy tannins. An explosion of flavours. This is an incredibly expressive wine with wonderful ageing potential.

Our food pairing suggestions for Retour des Iles :
. Roast pigeon
. Risotto with porcini mushrooms
. A chocolate dessert

Retour des Îles

Un vin élevé en mer pendant un voyage
de plusieurs mois à travers l’Océan Atlantique

Retour des Îles est né de l’envie de retrouver les sensations que devaient vivre les marchands anglais du Moyen-Âge, lorsqu’ils goûtaient les vins rapportés de leur périple sur les océans, à la recherche des mets les plus recherchés.

Pour cela, nous sélectionnons au domaine quatre barriques de nos vins dans lesquelles nous décelons un potentiel particulier qui n’attend que d’être sublimé. Elles sont alors embarquées dans les cales d’une goélette, pour une traversée de l’Atlantique accomplie à la seule force des vents.

Pendant ce périple qui dure près de huit mois, notre vin vit au gré de la houle et de l’iode, des variations de pression et de température. Il se charge alors de saveurs et d’arômes uniques, lui conférant une dimension nouvelle et incomparable.

Sa robe est grenat foncé et dense. Ses arômes de fruits rouges bien mûrs sont puissants. Sa bouche est remarquablement équilibrée, ronde et ample, longue et charnue. Il offre une profonde expression de fruits sur des tanins souples et aériens. Sa dégustation provoque une explosion de saveurs. C’est un vin d’une incroyable expressivité, avec un formidable potentiel de garde.

Nos suggestions d'accompagnement pour Retour des îles :
. Pigeon rôti
. Risotto aux cèpes
. Dessert base chocolat